aquaponics



Hi every one here is some pics of an evolving system in progress these first pics are of my first attempt at aquaponics and yabby farming as you can see they are doing fine ! several of them have berries on them so I need to expand my operation and setup another tank I thought it would be a good idea to do this so I could get some hands on experience !!! its on a small scale and looks a bit rough but now I can play around with water quality feeding rates ect .

I purchased some testing kits from Connie they are a very reasonable priced and are easy to use thanks again Connie ,, I tested my tank for the first time today and here is the results.

  • PH 7.5
  • Ammonia 2.0
  • Nitrite 2.0
  • Phosphate 2.0

I dropped some water out of the tank and replaced it to get the nitrite and amonia levels down a bit I will also stop feeding them for a few days I think the ph and phosphate is ok hopefully the biofilter will kick in soon .

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

0 thoughts on “aquaponics

  1. Hi Mike
    Yes this one is a flow through system just keeps pumping through all the time , the plant is watercress so it can stay wet all the time and it wont bother it .

Leave a Reply

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.