Mother moults no loses





I checked in this morning on the juvenile stock to see if there was any movement , it was no surprise not to see any !
The juveniles only seem to come out at night I guess the fish I have in there keep them on there toes
I am not sure if this is normal behaviour but I think its a safe bet to say that it is a defense mechanism.
I have cracked gravel in the tank wich seems to be great for juveniles as there is heaps of spaces between the gravel for them to disapear into , not such a good idea though if I had to transfer them to another tank as it would be almost impossible to catch them unless I made some kind of mini trap for them.
Any way while I was checking I noticed that the mother had moulted I checked to see if there were any juveniles left on it but the empty shell was clean I am assuming that they all made it ?
then again the fish may have had a good breakfast !!!
The PH in both my systems is 7.5 it doesn’t seem to move from there it may be the reason they are moulting so much and around spawning as there is an excess of calcium in the water , the plants in the grow beds are growing good as well wich is surprising me , one of the strawberry plants has flowered and the hot and spicy oregano has tripled in size .

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.