aquaponics



I seperated the male yabby’s from the females so they wouldn’t harrass and eat the berries off them I noticed one of the males was a little softer than the others when I was transfering it to the new tank
I thought it must have already moulted and had eaten its shell because I couldn’t see it any where , I checked on them today to see how they were settling in and I noticed on the bottom of the tank that it had molted and its shell was laying next to a piece of pipe , the turbidity isn’t to good as its a new system and azolla is floating on the surface wich makes it hard to see !! on closer inspection I noticed a mutilated corpse of a yabby they had canibalised it !!!
Now that I think about it when we were at mount barker females with berries and soft shelled marron were seperated from the other marron and placed into pond 3 now I know why .
(One down seven to go) 🙂

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

0 thoughts on “aquaponics

  1. Excellent post Bill. Sorry to hear about the death of your yabby. Unfortunately that is part of farming crustaceans. They wait until each other moults – so they know they are weaken and then they attack.

  2. Yes thats pretty much how it works !
    solids seem to get caught in the gravel and once the bacteria grow in the gravel convert ammonia into nitrites then nitrates then the plants feed on the nitrates and you get crystal clean water happy yabbies and fish and what ever you plant in the grow beds.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe By Email

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.